Frugal Grocery Budget – How to Strech Your Supply of Beef: Make Beef Pot Pie

Frugal Grocery Budget Ideas
When You Feel Your Budget is Sinking Fast

I have a pretty Frugal Grocery Budget. I think most people do nowadays. The recession has hit a lot of people very hard. Some people have it harder than others and some parts of the country have it harder than other parts.

Where I live in the West, meat is pretty expensive. Even the cheapest chicken is $1.50 a pound. The same chicken used to cost .79 cents a pound, not on sale. Food prices can cause a real challenge for your budget.

Recently, while grocery shopping, I found some mini beef steaks on clearance for $3.00 a pound. Normally $6.00 a pound. Ground beef, ground turkey, and ground chicken were all also $3.00 a pound. This being the case, I opted to buy the steak. It was about a 3/4 pound package and came to $2.75.

That package of meat wasn’t enough to feed three people, but I had a plan! I decided to use it to make Beef Pot Pie. A very frugal way to make everyone feel like they are having meat, without actually using a lot meat. Nobody feels deprived and your frugal grocery budget stays intact.

I didn’t follow any particular recipe. This is what I did:

I cut up:

  • 3 potatoes
  • 4 carrots
  • 1/2 an onion

I cooked the meat in my slow cooker with a mesquite marinade until the meat could be shredded with a fork.

I pre-cooked the potatoes, carrots and onion until about halfway done. Then I added the meat.

I used this recipe to make two pie crusts. The only tweaks I made was to replace a 1/2 cup of flour with 1/2 cup oat bran and I replaced the margarine with cold butter. If you want a flaky crust, margarine and ice water are the way to go.

I baked the pie at 350 degrees F, for about one hour.

1.) I cooked the mini steaks in my crock pot until I could shred them with two forks.

2.) I shredded mini steaks with two forks.

3.) I chopped up the potatoes, carrots, and onion.

4.) I cooked just the potatoes and carrots for about 15 minutes on medium low before I added the onions. I didn’t want the onions to caramelize .

5.) I added the onions and cooked for about 5 more minutes.

6.) I forgot to take a picture, of course, but I added the meat and about 1/2 cup of mesquite sauce. You want the pot pie to moist after it is cooked, however my family likes it on the drier side, so you may need to adjust to your liking. You can add pepper, salt, and garlic powder if you want. I just added a little white pepper.

7.) Roll out your pie crust dough and place in a pie plate or a cast iron skillet.
Fill with the meat and vegetable mix.

8.) I have yet to master the art of pie crust rolling, but I tried my best!
With practice it will get better, Saint Anne, pray for me!

It tasted very good! You can use any recipe you like. You just want to make the meat stretch to feed more people. I served this with a big salad and lemon-aid and it filled three adults. I find that adding oat bran into recipes helps to make people fuller faster.

If you are serving some very hungry people, I would make some rolls to serve with it!

How do you stretch your food budget? I would love to hear! Leave a comment below.

Comments are closed.

