“The Mirror of True Womanhood”

The “Mirror of True Womanhood” by Rev. Bernard O’Reilly is an amazing book. A few years ago, I was searching for good Catholic spiritual reading. I wanted something old, something that was written in a spirit of timelessness. Something that was grounded in Catholic morality and tradition.

I did hours of research and finally found this book. It isn’t a book to read if you aren’t an ardent Catholic. It is what many people may consider “old-fashioned.” In reality it is just a book that promotes basic Catholic teaching, without the worry of stepping on someone’s toes.

This book covers just about everything you could think of regarding being a Catholic wife and/or mother. It goes over Hospitality, A woman’s love, “How a poor man’s home is made delightful,” How to imitate the Blessed Virgin, etc.

This book was such a blessing for me to find. It has helped me grow in virtue and become a better wife. I realize though, it may not be for everyone.

The book is available for free in pdf format. The book is in the public domain!

If you read some of this book and are interested in participating in a Catholic Woman’s discussion of this little known book, please leave a comment below. If there is enough interest I would like to start a discussion here at The Frugal Catholic Home. I would discuss a chapter once every week, since the “chapters” are short.

I think it could be a great way to support each other in growing in virtue as Catholic Wives.

Comments are closed.

