Frugal Foods Fridays- Popcorn!

I love popcorn! Not just any popcorn though. I only get the non-gmo organic popcorn. Popcorn is a favorite snack of mine, and a real budget stretcher.

I didn’t always love popcorn though. I used to think popcorn was either boring or disgusting. I used to love the microwave popcorn for a while, but then it started tasting odd with a slight chemically aftertaste.

Once I started buying organic non-gmo popcorn from my local health food store, my whole attitude toward popcorn changed for the better. I started to realize that popcorn could taste fresh and yummy and could be made as healthy as I wanted or as “bad for you” as I wanted!

Here is what I do with popcorn:

1.) Ranch Popcorn: I make ranch popcorn with a dry ranch mix that has no msg or hydrogenated oils. I pop the popcorn in a little bit of olive oil (usually about 1/3 cup dry kernels at a time) and then after it cools a bit I add 1-2 tablespoons melted butter. I put the lid on the pot and shake it up. Then I add about 3 tablespoons dry ranch mix to 3 quarts popped popcorn, put the lid back on and shake it again until the seasoning is blended well.

2.) Cheddar Popcorn: I make cheddar popcorn with a dry cheddar powder that has no msg or hydrogenated oils. I pop the popcorn in a little bit of olive oil (usually about 1/3 of dry kernels at a time) and then after it cools a bit I add 1-2 tablespoons of melted butter. I put the lid back on the pot and shake it up. Then I add about 1/4 cup dry cheddar powder to 3 quarts popped popcorn. I then put the lid back on and shake it again until the seasoning is blended well.

3.) Kettle Corn: I use this recipe.

4.) Popcorn Cake: I use this recipe.

5.) Popcorn Trail Mix: I don’t have a particular recipe for this. I wait for the popcorn to cool. Then I mix in chocolate chips, mini marshmallows, puffed rice cereal or puffed corn cereal, mini pretzels, and peanuts.

6.) Popcorn Balls: I use this recipe.

7.) Nutritional Yeast Popcorn: Sometimes I make the cheddar popcorn, but I do half nutritional yeast and half cheddar powder! Very yummy.

The possibilities are numerous. Which is lovely because you can change the flavor often and not get tired of it as a frugal budget stretching snack!

Below I listed some suggestions of what you can buy through Vitacost to make similar recipes.

Remember if you go through my referral link first, Vitacost will email you a coupon for $10.00 off your first order. Shipping is 4.99 for the whole order. Also, there are other free sample options for you to choose from too!

Comments are closed.

