Frugal Grocery Budget: How to Strech Your Supply of Eggs : Stuffed Pretzel Breakfast Sandwiches

Frugal Grocery Budget Ideas
When You Feel Your Budget is Sinking Fast

Most people would agree that eggs are a fairly frugal and cheap food. I too agree, to a point. I remember, not so very long ago, when eggs were .75 cents a dozen. Regular Price. Now you can find eggs for $1.00 a dozen (check your local Dollar Tree store), but for the most part eggs start at $1.50 a dozen regular price. Even at my Wal-Mart.

This being the case, even though eggs are cheap, I still like to be able to stretch them when I can.

One way I do this is to make stuffed spicy pretzel breakfast sandwiches.

I first start by making two recipes of this pretzel recipe. I don’t double it, I just take two bowls and make a single recipe in each one. I tried to double it one time and it just didn’t work out exactly right. I do make a slight modification to this recipe, though.

Modifications:

  • I replace one cup flour with one cup oat bran.
  • I cut the powdered sugar down to 1/2 a cup

While I wait for the dough to rise for about 40 minutes, I first clean up my mess from making the dough. Then I start making the egg mix.

I usually make the filling in the microwave. I know, not the best, but sometimes that is all I have time for.

I chop up:

  • 1 tomato
  • 1 sweet pepper
  • 1 hot pepper
  • 1/4 onion

To this mix I add 7 scrambled eggs and cook it in the microwave until eggs are cooked through and slightly dry. I then fluff the egg mixture up with a fork and add:

  • 1/4 cup velveeta spicy salsa dip
  • 4 oz shredded cheese

I then divide each bowl of dough into eight equal pieces and stuff the dough with the egg mix. Then I dip the dough into the baking soda water. I then bake the stuffed pretzels at 375 degrees F for 20 minutes.

The dough after I kneaded it, but before it has risen.

The dough after it has risen.

 

Egg and Cheese mix

 

I flattened out one of the pieces of dough on a floured surface into a roundish shape. I just used the palm of my hand to shape it.

I put a serving spoon amount of egg mix on the dough and then I folded up the sides and pinched the dough closed. After all the “sandwiches” are made I dipped them in the hot water/baking soda bath.

The “sandwiches” are ready for the oven! I don’t have a baking sheet so I had to bake only eight at a time. Although the recipe makes 16 altogether when you make two batches of dough.

All done! These are so super yummy. I freeze these for easy breakfasts throughout the week!

You can stuff the dough with anything you like! I have stuffed them with leftover meat before when there was only one piece of meat left. Yummy! It’s a great way to use up leftovers or stretch out what you have.

What do you make to stretch your budget? I would love to hear! Leave a comment below.

2 Comments

  1. Wow, these look fantastic! I hadn’t thought to look at the dollar store for eggs. I like that idea, as eggs are one of my favorite foods. I’ll have to make these up myself!

    • OH! I am so happy you like the recipe! They are so, so, so yummy! We actually had them for dinner tonight. I think it is the pretzel dough that makes it. I have also filled them with chocolate chips and then brushed the tops with butter and sprinkled sugar on top! Yummy, Yummy!

      Thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment!

