‘What I Saw in America” – Free PDF Download of G.K Chesterton’s Book

Young G.K. Chesterton

By now I am sure you know of my love of G.K. Chesterton! I truly believe he is one of the best authors of all time. He has such insight into human nature both good and bad. He also has one of the best senses of humor I have ever had the pleasure of reading.

I have to admit, I have read most of his writings. I also try to re-read at least one of his books every year. There is such a wealth of information and insight that I always need to brush up on.

One of my favorite books by G.K Chesterton is “What I Saw In America.” It is very interesting to read his take on America as it was nearly 100 years ago. Not to mention a lot of his observations can be applied to our modern society. It is truly an interesting read. Here is the link: “What I Saw in America” by G.K. Chesterton.

When I first started to read his books with a vivacious appetite, I quickly realized that I couldn’t afford to buy all his books. What I did instead was find some of his books that were harder to find in print. I then downloaded them for free in PDF format and I slowly printed them out. I know that home printing can be expensive, but I found a trick to make my out-of-pocket expense less.

1.) I waited for back to school sales.

I kept my eyes peeled for wonderful deals at Staples and Home Depot for back-to-school sales. I was able to buy many hard cover three-ring binders for .25 a piece. Once in a while I would be able to find them for .15. I would make sure to buy as many as the store limit was.

I would also look for the plastic page protectors. I was usually able to get them for .50 a package.

2.) I Would Wait for Cash Back Offers

I would wait for Cash Back offers. For example: I was able to get free printing paper. I would buy the paper for full price and then I would get the cash back for it, usually in a form of a gift card from the store which I bought a from. Then I would use the money I got back to buy printer ink when it went on sale. Office Depot, Office Max, and Staples will periodically have such “cash back” offers.

Making sure to get all the best deals I could, I was able to print and “bind” each book in page protectors for about $2.50 each including ink. It was well worth it for me to print and “bind” those books, especially the ones that were rare to find in print.

What are some your favorite out-of-print books? I would love to hear! Leave a comment below!

Comments are closed.

